Image

Tell me one word that describes you,

and I’ll give you one better

Give me a story that defines you,

and I’ll tell you one better

My eye is you, because like a mirror I frame it all,

tell me what lie is you

and I will truth mine to your faults

See, I is you, but I am better

my history is painted on my face,

down to the smallest letter

There is not one wrinkle on me that makes me feel ashamed,

but the makeup you paint on your face you wish could do the same

My hand is you, because like a pitcher’s mit I will hold it all,

so tell me all the secrets you have

and I won’t tell a soul

See, I would tell you mine, but you should stay out of grown folk’s business

talk back to me if you want to, this will be your last visit

Because I am older that makes me greater

it does not mean that you are less than

To be on my side you must qualify

that, you will understand

God chooses who will go through

you’re just at the beginning don’t you see

It takes a whole lot of living to get to this place called me

I could show you how to get here,

but that would be robbing you of your grace

It’s no picnic in the park,

and what’s available is small space

But on your journey here you will have obstacles, I can’t pretend,

and it is your duty to start all the things I couldn’t begin

I left the mark for you

that you shall pass,

and if you can’t beat it,

in life you will not last

I am turning a year older today,

try to catch up

I have a many of years head start so tough luck

Leave a Reply

