Cult Behavior: Endless

 The summer breeze filled the air as I laid on my back in the wet grass.  The sprinklers came on at about 8:30, and the sun was beaming down on my face.  I could barely keep my eyes open, as tears rolled down my cheeks into my ears because of starring at the glaring sun.  I sat up and felt a soft chill run down my wet back.  A little red lady bug was crawling up my leg but I couldn’t  see her clearly because my eyes were blurry from my tryst with the sun.  I rubbed my eyes a few times to regain my sight.  Once my sight came back my eyes were set on a boy.  He didn’t say anything, he just stood there quietly.  I wondered, for a moment, how long he must have been standing there.

By then the lady bug had reached my thigh and I smacked her away.  I stood up to go over and greet the boy, but I started to feel a little insecure.  My back side was soaked and I had pieces of grass all over me and in my hair.  To my surprise he said something.

“What’s going on with you?”  He said looking at me up and down.
“It’s the last day of school, I was celebrating my freedom…even if it is only for a few months.”
“Oh!”  That’s all he said.  He had the most beautiful light brown eyes and curly brown hair.  In the sun it seemed as if he had highlights.  He looked nice.  Before I could think another word or process another thought, he ran over to me.
“Tag!”  And he was off like the wind.  It took me five seconds before I realized we were playing tag.  I chased after him.  He faked left and right.  He ran in circles, and he had me giggling the whole way.  We ran through the lilies and sunflowers.  We even picked dandelions to blow in the wind.
 I stopped and turned to look at him.  “What is your name?”  I asked getting lost in his brown eyes.  “Tag…no just kidding Rupert.  What’s yours.”
“Chase.”  I said joking but for a moment he believed me until he got the joke.
“No really what is your name?”
“Julie!  Named after my grandmother.”  He continued to pick up flowers and followed from behind.
He gave me my first kiss in July under the fireworks, and told me in his heart is where I’ll always be.   He was my best friend and will be for eternity.  He was my first love and I was his.  We promised every summer from then on we will play.  On a tree is where we carved Tag loves Chase.

Leave a comment